Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Save This Event

Event Saved

GIST TechConnect: Idea + Creation = Ideation

The GIST Initiative

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 from 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM (EST)

GIST TechConnect: Idea + Creation = Ideation

Registration Information

Type End Quantity
GIST TechConnect MENA Ended Free  

Share GIST TechConnect: Idea + Creation = Ideation

Event Details

View Live:

GIST TechConnect is a series of interactive videoconferences that brings together great entrepreneurial minds to spark the creation of new technology ventures that address specific societal problems and market opportunities. This edition of GIST TechConnect focuses on Ideation -- the creative process of generating, developing, and communicating new ideas and turning them into profitable and impactful ventures.

GIST TechConnect welcomes innovators, educators, entrepreneurs and students from all around the globe and equips them with practical insights, inspiration and support networks to power up their dreams of changing the world.

GIST TechConnect Speakers:

Jeff Hoffman, member of the founding team & former CEO,, Founder, ColorJar, and GIST Advisory Group member. LinkedIn
Jeff Hoffman is an accomplished entrepreneur and innovator in the fields of Internet, e-commerce, and entertainment. He launched his first software company while still a student at Yale University. Mr. Hoffman is a founder and partner in ColorJar, a venture accelerator firm that helps entrepreneurs and small business owners launch and grow new business ventures. Mr. Hoffman is perhaps best known as a founder and CEO in the family of companies, where he led the development and launch of Priceline’s consumer company (Priceline YardSale). 

Nolan Bushnell, Founder of Atari, Inc., Chuck E. Cheese, & Brainrush. LinkedIn
Nolan Bushnell is an American engineer and entrepreneur who founded Atari, Inc. - an American video game and home computer company. Mr. Bushnell has been inducted into the Video Game Hall of Fame and the Consumer Electronics Association Hall of Fame, received the BAFTA Fellowship and the Nations Restaurant News "Innovator of the Year" award, and was named one of Newsweek's "50 Men Who Changed America". 


Magid Abraham, Co-Founder & CEO of comScore Inc. LinkedIn
Magid Abraham is an entrepreneur and expert on market research, consumer modeling, and information solutions. Mr. Abraham has held several executive leadership positions throughout his career, two of which were within companies he founded. He has authored several articles in a variety of academic and industry journals, including the Harvard Business Review, Journal of marketing Research, and Marketing Science. 



GIST TechConnect Moderator: 

Ovidiu (Ovi) Bujorean, Sr. Manager of GIST Initiative.   

Ovidiu Bujorean manages and directs the GIST Initiative. Mr. Bujorean is a professional speaker on topics such as professional networking, innovation and entrepreneurship and partnerships building. Previously, he was the Senior Associate at Rudyard Partners, a private equity firm focused on investing in consumer technologies. Mr. Bujorean serves as Chairman of the Board of Advisors of AIESEC DC and Vice-Chairman of MIT  Enterprise Forum of Washington DC. He founded LEADERS, an organization that impacted the lives of approximately 10000 young leaders and entrepreneurs in Romania and Southern-Eastern Europe and is a graduate of the MIT Sloan School of Management (MBA) and Harvard’s Kennedy School (MPA).

More speakers to be confirmed. Check back for updates!

At GIST TechConnect you will: 

  • Lean how to create a billion dollar startup idea
  • Connect with and ask questions of our serial entrepreneurs 
  • Learn about ideation from entrepreneurs in the MENA region
  • Get involved with the GIST activities and your local entrepreneurial communities 

How to get involved?


Country Local Start time TechConnect Viewing Site Address
Afghanistan 6:30pm American University of Afghanistan Kabul Darulaman Rd, Kabul, Afghanistan
Algeria 3pm Ecole Nationale Polytechnique Amphi Ouabdesslam (ex amphi 1C), Ecole Nationale Polytechnique, Avenue Hacen Badi. El Harrach. 16200 Algiers, Algeria
Bangladesh 8pm American Center Embassy of the United States of America, J Block, Progoti Sharoni, Baridhara, Dhaka-1212, (Opposite the U.S. Embassy and next to Notun Bazar)
Brazil 11am HUB Curitiba R. Comendador Macedo, 233 - Centro Curitiba - PR, 80060-030, Brazil
Colombia 9am Pontificia Universidad Javeriana- Cali Contact for details:
Ecuador 9am Pontificia Universidad Catlica del Ecuador (PUCE) Quito. Contact for details:
Egypt 4pm TIEC Contact for details:
Ghana 2pm mFriday TechHub, Science Complex Building, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology.   Kumasi, Ghana
Guatemala 8am Universidad Rafael Landivar Contact for details:
India 7:30pm Filo Café The Terrace of Kautilya Society | D-20/21 Munshi Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Jordan 4pm Kolshi Media Oasis500 Offices, King Hussein Business Park, Building 7, P.O. Box 851222, Amman, 11185, Jordan
Jordan 5pm N2V Nakeeb Umran Al Maayta St. Block 33, Sweifieh. Amman, Jordan
Jordan 5pm Queen Rania Center for Entrepreneurship Royal Scientific Society, Hashemite Auditorium
Kuwait 5pm True Business Communication Kuwait City – Qibla, Al Omar Building - Abubakr St., 4th Floor - office # 404
Lebanon 4pm Beirut Arab University, Tripoli Campus Contact for details: 
Mexico 8am Universidad Iberoamericana en Leon MX Contact for details:
Mexico 8am Universidad Iberoamericana en Puebla Mexico Contact for details:
Nigeria 3pm Technology Incubation Centre Benin/African Incubation Network Contact for details:
Oman 6pm U.S. Embassy  
Pakistan 7pm Moftak Solutions House # 5, Street # 95, I-8/4, Islamabad
Pakistan 7pm National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) H-12   Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Pakistan 7pm Sukkur IBA - Institute of Business Administration Video Conference facility at Sukkur-IBA
Pakistan 7pm Institute of Space Technology, Islamabad 1, Islamabad Highway, Islamabad 44000, Video Conferencing Room
Pakistan 7pm CLTC Global Contact for details:
Pakistan 7pm NED University of Engineering & Technology Karachi Civil AV Auditorium
University Road Karachi
Qatar 5pm Bedaya/CAN-Q College of the North Atlantic Building 1 Theater 1 24449, Arab League St, Doha, Qata
Saudi Arabia 5pm N2V Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz Street - Near Ka'aky Bakery
Senegal 2pm CTIC Dakar 3, rue Béranger Féraud, BP: 368 Dakar RP, Dakar - SENEGAL
Tunisia 3pm WikiStartup Carthage Centre, Rue du Lac Constance – 1053 Les Berges du Lac -Tunis
Turkey 4pm Garaj Incubation Center 43 TEPAV Binasu Alt Kat TOBB-ETÜ Yerleşkesi 2. Kısım 06560 Söğütözü - Ankara
USA 9am First Flight Venture Center 2 Davis Dr   Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
Venezuela (Caracas and Guayana) 10am Universidad Catolica Andres Bello Contact for details:


Ideation Graphic

Have questions about GIST TechConnect: Idea + Creation = Ideation? Contact The GIST Initiative
Attendee List Sort by: Date | First Name
Show More



The GIST Initiative

About GIST:

GIST builds entrepreneurial ecosystems in 86 emerging economies across Latin America, Africa, Asia, the Middle East, and Turkey by identifying, coaching, and funding the most promising science and technology entrepreneurs through its flagship competitions, in-country trainings, global interactive TechConnects, online social media platform, and interactive mentorship programs. GIST forges partnerships, locally and globally, among technology entrepreneurs, angel investors, mentors, and experts to foster human progress and prosperity. The GIST Initiative is a partnership led by the U.S. Department of State and CRDF Global.

  Contact the Organizer

Interested in hosting your own event?

Join millions of people on Eventbrite.

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.