$10

Every Me and Every You: Mirrors, Masks and Martyrs - Interintellect Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

$10

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Fellow Interintellect Bronwyn Williams examines mimesis, social cooling, and scapegoats - and whether being human is a team sport

About this Event

"Humans are social animals. Our language, our self-image, our self-worth and our social status (measures of success) are defined and moulded through our relations with each other. We watch each other, learn from each other, copy each other, and attempt (consciously and subconsciously) to get each other to copy us in turn. The observer changes the observed, and is observed and changed in turn. This can lead to vicious or virtuous feedback loops. Sometimes the mirror is kind, other times we become trapped in mutually destructive cycles.

Mimesis, social cooling and scapegoat culture, for better or for worse, are all part and parcel of our co-dependent culture. Understanding who we are watching, and who is watching us, and why, can help us avoid some of the darker aspects hiding in our mirrors and masks.

Join us at this Salon as we explore the hall of mirrors that is human society and take a long, hard look at ourselves, looking at others, looking back at us." - Salon Host Bronwyn Williams

***

Good to read or watch pre-salon:

Mirrors (mimeticism)

Masks (social cooling)

Martyrs (scapegoats)

***

Time zones:

    • 10 am in San Francisco
    • 1 pm in New York
    • 6 pm in London
    • 7 pm in Berlin
    • 10 pm in Dubai

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event, when bookings closed.

Free entry for all Interintellect Hosts (with option of being a patron - see here).

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Community forum acceptance is currently referral based, but we have a public waiting list - see here.

Find our online code of conduct here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved