Free

Divide and Conquer: The Model Minority Myth and Anti-Blackness Post-War-Now

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
This session focuses on understanding how the intersection of Black and Japanese American lives after WWII.

About this Event

10am-12pm PDT | 1pm-3pm EDT

This session focuses on understanding how the intersection of Black and Japanese American lives after WWII set the stage for deepening and perpetuating racism and division. We explore the historical perspective through personal stories to shed light on how anti-Blackness and the myth of the model minority separated our communities. We also look to those who have challenged these divisive narratives to form alliances and build community. Our final conversation will be moderated by Tsuru for Solidarity Co-Chair, Satsuki Ina.

There will be a one hour break before the workshop resumes.

Healing Circles for Change

1pm-3pm PDT | 4pm-6pm EDT

The workshop will be followed by Healing Circles for Change to allow participants to join small groups to share thoughts how the historical experiences shared in the workshop have influenced their own lives and attitudes, and what steps can be taken to support the Movement for Black Lives today. You can read more about the Healing Circles here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1X-i3dpyLbkYN-UdYwjiB2OUC8W6UolVhkXvCYxaw_Yw/edit?usp=sharing

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved