Discovering Resilience: A Legal Workshop for Farmers and Ranchers

Actions and Detail Panel

Sold Out

Event Information

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Discovering Resilience is a Farm Commons workshop that helps farmers and ranchers build legal resilience for their farm or ranch.

About this event

Discovering Resilience is a Farm Commons workshop that helps farmers and ranchers build legal resilience for their farm or ranch.

Farmers and ranchers: Do legal questions keep you up at night? Do you wish you knew where to turn for the answers? Those answers aren’t always easy to come by — especially for the most innovative, direct-to-consumer farmers.

Discovering Resilience is a legal workshop designed just for you. The workshop empowers farmers and ranchers with the legal knowledge and skills they need to resolve legal vulnerability in 5 core areas of farm law: business structures, insurance, employment law, land leasing and purchasing, and diversification (value-added and agritourism).

Are you wondering how to write an effective lease? Or whether or not to form an LLC, S corporation, or neither? What about hosting interns or working with volunteers; is that legal? Or how you should manage the risks of guests getting injured when they visit your operation? These are all farm law questions and they affect everyone, especially the most innovative, direct-to-consumer farmers. Answers aren’t always easy to come by, but that’s why the Discovering Resilience workshop exists.

This isn’t a boring, powerpoint-driven impractical legal class. This is the most hands-on farm law workshop you’ll find. You’ll create your own farm law action plan, unique to your operation, with support from peers and legal experts along the way. Farmers and ranchers are the focus here. We believe strongly in the tenet of nothing about us without us.

This five week highly interactive and producer-focused workshop is framed around the 10 legal best practices every farmer and rancher need to take to build resilience. You will walk away from this workshop ready to implement your own legal action plan, as well as have continued support from peers in a virtual commons space where referrals, strategies, questions, tips, and more are shared!

Course Includes:

  • The most important legal concepts for your farm
  • Interactive, meaningful, and practical activities to overcome your legal challenges
  • Learning effective communication tools
  • Engaging weekly live meetings facilitated by legal experts
  • A virtual commons space for peers to share referrals, strategies, questions, tips, and more

How It Works

  • Meet once a week for a 120 minute live meeting led by Farm Commons’ staff focused on practicing legal resilience, peer engagement, and questions.
  • Engage in guided discovery between weekly course meetings with videos and online content.
  • Ask questions and contribute answers in our agriculture-focused social platform, the Community Commons.

Extra Benefits

For a limited time, we’re offering tickets to Discovering Resilience for $49. Plus, your ticket includes a one-year membership to Farm Commons where you’ll have full access to our curated set of guides, webinars, resource library, and more!

Requirements

  • You are currently a farmer or rancher, or you have a strong business plan.
  • Internet access able to sustain an online meeting with video.
  • Availability at the scheduled workshop meeting times (see meeting details below)

Sign Up Now

Space is limited, and with our Early Bird pricing seats will go fast. Reserve your spot today!

We have two Discovering Resilience sessions available:

All Tuesdays in March: Meet at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific for two hours.

All Wednesdays in March: Meet at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific for two hours.

Choose your meeting session when you select your ticket type. After you reserve your ticket, you will receive additional information about how to get access to the workshop platform. We are excited to see you there!

Location

Online event

Organizer Farm Commons

Organizer of Discovering Resilience: A Legal Workshop for Farmers and Ranchers

Save This Event

Event Saved