Disability + Design : Breaking Barriers in Education

Disability + Design : Breaking Barriers in Education

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Please join us for our first event of the IDSA Disability + Design Speaker Series.

About this event

This panel discussion will highlight the design education barriers faced by students with disabilities, and the ways which the industrial design community can help support equitable academic opportunities. This session is proudly presented by the IDSA Milwaukee (MKE) chapter, and will be held via Zoom webinar on Thursday, August 11 @ 2pm PT/ 3pm MT/4pm CT/ 5pm ET.

Industrial Design education is a demanding pursuit for all students, but it has seldom been attainable for those with disabilities due to rigid curriculum requirements. While students with disabilities have the same passion and skill for design as their peers, they often have unique needs and circumstances related to the delicate balance of health and academics. The success of these students can be enabled through individualized accommodations, open communication with educators, and flexibility on working methods and environments. Each person involved with the industrial design profession has the power to contribute to accessible design education by considering new perspectives and spreading awareness. Join our panel of students, graduates, and educators as they share their stories and answer questions about navigating academia with disabilities.

Speakers:

Alex Lobos, IDSA

Ariel Pershman

Deborah Lalush

Emily Siira, IDSA

Raja Schaar, IDSA

Share with friends