$25

Digital Subcultures and Social Media: Past, Present, Future - ii Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

$25

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Fellow Interintellect Rachel Haywire explains the shaping of generations from IRC to MySpace to TikTok

About this Event

"Digital subcultures cannot be discussed without discussing the mediums through which they have evolved. From IRC to ICQ to AIM to MySpace to Instagram to TikTok, the history of digital subcultures spans over 30 years. Many will state that the online world was once a place for outsiders and outcasts to gather and that they miss "the good old days." How much of this is generational and how much of this is nostalgia? Is the digital world better off today than it was 30 years ago? 15 years ago? 5 years ago?

Has the Internet retained its outsider appeal? Have the true pioneers been sacrificed? What can we do to keep innovation alive during this era?

Rachel Haywire will discuss how digital subcultures have evolved through the backdrop of social media and the anthropological aspects of these cultural shifts. Are digital subcultures and the memes that accompany them the result of our generations being online too much, or symptoms of a much greater social phenomenon? What comes next for digital socialites, their fans, and detractors?" -Salon host Rachel Haywire

***

Good to read and watch pre-Salon:

***

Time zones:

    • Jan 22, 5 pm in San Francisco
    • Jan 22, 8 pm in New York
    • Jan 23, 1 am in London
    • Jan 23, 2 am in Berlin
    • Jan 23, 12 pm in Sydney

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event, when bookings close.

Free entry for all Interintellect Hosts (with option of being a patron - see here).

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Community forum acceptance is currently referral based, but we have a public waiting list - see here.

Find our online code of conduct here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

***

Image source: Jennifer Walsh

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved