Donation

Deepen Your Practice: Alexander Technique for Yoga: January 2021

Actions and Detail Panel

Donation

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Create a practice that works for you

About this Event

CAN'T FIND A CLASS YOU THAT WORKS FOR YOU?

Do pain and injuries keep you from doing yoga? Are you worried that you're not flexible enough, not strong enough, not something else enough? Do you have questions about form that you don't get to ask in a regular yoga class? Then this class is for you.

Sarah and Amanda create a warm and inviting environment where you can dig deeply into your movement and your breath to create a practice that works for you.

JANUARY THEME OF THE MONTH: MEETING THE MAT

Every part of your body that touches the mat needs to transfer the weight of the body, open to the support of the earth, and balance. We'll spend the month exploring what it is to feel grounded AND light, and how to take care of fingers and toes, ankles and wrists, elbows and knees.

Classes are recorded, so if you are not able to attend, you can practice along with the recording.

  • Tuesday evenings in January, 90 minutes
  • 8:00pm Eastern/7:00pm Central/6:00pm Mountain/5:00pm Pacific
  • Pay-What-You-Can (Suggested $60 - $150)
  • Taught by Amanda MacDonald and Sarah Mayhan
  • All experience levels welcome.

________________________________________________________________

About Sarah:

Hello! I’m Sarah Mayhan, an Alexander Technique teacher.

I believe everyone deserves the empowerment that comes from understanding themselves and how their body works.

I certified as a teacher of the Alexander Technique at Alexander Technique Training in Chicago (ATTiC) under senior teacher Daria Okugawa.

I have a background in theater performance and social/ ballroom dance - but I was never a "natural" in understanding my body. Alexander Technique taught me the skills to overcome repetitive use injuries and feel more comfortable in my own skin.

Based in Chicago, I have particular experience working with:

  • active seniors who would like to work on their balance and walking
  • office workers who are dealing with repetitive strain or want to have more confident body language in the workplace
  • people in the caring or helping professions who would like to manage their energy
  • people who are managing the stresses of parenting or caregiving

You can learn more about Sarah at her website: https://www.learnalexanderchicago.com/

___________________________________________________________

SCROLL DOWN FOR AMANDA's BIO

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved