Deciphering Spanish Colonialism Digitally

Deciphering Spanish Colonialism Digitally

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Date and time

Location

Online event

Sales Have Ended

Registrations are closed

Thank you for your registration! You will receive an email from the organizer a week before the workshop with preparation instructions and Zoom meeting link. / ¡Gracias por registrarse! Recibirá un correo electrónico del organizador la semana del taller con las instrucciones de preparación y el enlace de la reunión de Zoom.

Come examine the Spanish colonial legacy preserved at the Benson Latin American Collection through various digital scholarship tools.

About this event

(Programa en español disponible abajo)

Visualizing Colonial Texts (9-10:30 MT / 10-11:30 CST)

Analyze and mine early modern textual documents through Recogito and Voyant Tools.

Mapping Augustinian Origins (12-1:30 MT / 1-2:30 CST)

Map the familial origins of New Spain’s Augustinian friars with ArcGIS.

Tracing Mexico City’s Networks (3-4:30 MT / 4-5:30 CST)

Visualize the colonial cabildo’s social interactions using Onodo.

No experience required. Participation is limited to students, instructors, professionals, and community members in the El Paso, Texas border region (West Texas, New Mexico, and Chihuahua, Mexico).

Space is limited to 30 participants per online session. Registration is required for all workshops and closes Wednesday, April 14.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Venga a examinar el legado colonial español que se conserva en la Colección Latinoamericana Nettie Lee Benson a través de varias herramientas digitales.

Visualización de textos coloniales (9-10: 30 MT / 10-11: 30 CST)

Analice documentos coloniales y extraiga texto a través de Recogito y Voyant Tools.

Mapeando los orígenes de los agustinos novohispanos (12-1: 30 MT / 1-2: 30 CST)

Mapee los orígenes familiares de los frailes agustinos de la Nueva España con ArcGIS.

Rastreo de las redes en la Ciudad de México (3-4: 30 MT / 4-5: 30 CST)

Visualice las interacciones sociales del cabildo colonial usando Onodo.

No se necesita experiencia previa. La participación está limitada a estudiantes, instructores, profesionales y miembros de la comunidad en la región fronteriza de El Paso, Texas (Oeste de Texas, Nuevo México y Chihuahua, México).

El espacio está limitado a 30 participantes por sesión en línea. Se requiere inscripción para todos los talleres y cierra el miércoles 14 de abril.