Free

DAI Worship Service, December 18/19, 2018

Event Information

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description

Description

DAI Worship Service, December 18/19, 2018


  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018 (USA/CA/UK/EU)

  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)


Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.


This special service is being hosted by two Christian chaplains, although we hope all people (with or without) any religious and spiritual beliefs feel welcome to join us. We hosted our first online service like this last year, as many DAI members have been told they "must be sinners to have dementia", and no longer feel welcome in their local places of worship. We are delighted Jim Spiker has agreed to join us again to lead us in worship, and are thrilled to have Lynn Casteel Harper from New York to as a co leader of this special event.

About Rev. Lynn Casteel Harper: Lynn is the Associate Minister of Older Adults at The Riverside Church in New York City. Prior to Riverside, Lynn served as a nursing home chaplain for seven years. Her forthcoming creative nonfiction book, On Vanishing, explores the intersection of spirituality, dementia, and social justice. Her work can be found at lynncasteelharper.wordpress.com.

About Jim Spiker: Jim Spiker has been involved in chaplaincy since 1976 in schools, industry, and for nearly 20 years in residential aged care. He enjoys working with people of great life experience and loves doing chat sessions that tackle innovative ways to live in the present moment. He thinks that theology is best when it is dynamic in presenting enduring (and helpful) learning. Jim’s primary focus has always been on pastoral care although wandering around Australian bushland looking for birds is the source of his re-energisation.

Two DAI Members plan to do Readings: Dr Jennifer Bute (UK) and Mr Jerry Wylie (USA). If anyone else would llike to be actively invovled o the day, I am sure you'll be able to contribute, or you can email us in advance.

We welcome everyone: please register and join us for this service, including DAI members, family and friends and our supporters and sponsors. Without you all, DAI would not be where it is today, and we wanted to share this special time of the year with you all.

It is being held instead of our monthly educational Webinar.

Please note: although this is a 'non de-nominational Worship Service, EVERYONE IS WELCOME, even if you don't have spiritual beliefs. We are hosting this, not to divide people, but to provide a service that does not exclude or blame people for being diagnosed with dementia. Like your local Church or Temple, it is your choice to attend.


Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - times (USA/UK/EU/CA):

10:30 am Honolulu
12:30 pm Oregon Portland/San Francisco USA
12:30 pm Vancouver CA
2:30 pm Des Moines/Chicago USA
3:30 pm New York USA
3:30 pm Toronto CA
8:30 pm London/Glasgow UK
9:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Wednesday, December 19, 2018 - times (AU/NZ/JP/IND/TWN):

7:00 am Adelaide AU
6:30 am Brisbane AU
7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
4:30 am Perth AU/Taipei TWN
5:30 am Tokyo, JP
9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The celebration runs for up to 1.5 hours.

Check your time if not listed above by using this link: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+Worship+Service%2C+December+18%2F19%2C+2018&iso=20181218T07&p1=5&ah=1&am=30



THIS EVENT IS FREE


HOWEVER, WE DO ASK YOU CONSIDER DONATING TO SUPPORT OUR WORK.

Please note: Donations using PayPal during December are free of fees; PayPal are also adding 1% of all donations made to charities.

WITHOUT DONATIONS, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR MEMBERS, OUR FAMILIES & THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

See you there!

Share with friends

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved