Sales Ended

DAI A Meeting Of The Minds Webinar : "Dementia 101" (Aug 23/24, 2017)

Event Information

Event description

Description

DAI's "A Meeting of The Minds" Webinar with Associate Professor Lee-Fay Low

Topic: "Demetia 101"

  • August 23, 2017 - 5:00 PM (EDT) New York USA

  • August 24, 2017 - 7.00 AM Sydney (AEST) Australia


Please note: This event is set in a number of time zones, and has been set up using Adelaide, AU - but it is one event for everyone, Wednesday, August 23, 2017 (USA/UK/EU) and Thursday, August 24, 2017 (AU/NZ).


About the Webinar: This presentation will provide an overview of dementia including common types, epidemiology and treatments. It will also present highlights of current research into prevention and care.

About Lee-Fay: A/Prof Low’s main areas of expertise are in home and residential care for older people, wellbeing in people with dementia, dementia risk factors for dementia, dementia literacy, and people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. She is particularly interested in developing and evaluating interventions to improve the quality of life of older people. She has methodological skills in population studies, systematic reviews, clustered randomised trials, instrument development and evaluation, and translation of research into practice. She has attracted over 4 million dollars in research funding, authored over 80 peer-reviewed articles, six book chapters as well as two books (one co-authored with Kate Swaffer) on dementia. She thinks that research is fun, and sometimes even admits to liking statistics.

Wednesday August 23, 2017, USA/CA/EU/UK

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 2.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 3.00 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);
  • 4.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 5.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC, New York);
  • 2.00 p.m. Vancouver, Canada;
  • 11.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii
  • 10.00 p.m. in the UK;
  • 11.00 p.m. in Amsterdam, Paris and Budapest

Thursday August 24, 2017, 2017 AU/NZ/JPN

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)

  • 6.30 a.m. in Adelaide;
  • 7.00 a.m. in Brisbane;
  • 7.00 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 5.00 a.m. in Perth;
  • 9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 6.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan
  • 5.00 a.m. in Taipei, Taiwan

The WEBINAR will run for approximately 1 hour

Open the link for detailed times and how to calculate the time where you live, if not listed above: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+Webinar+%22Dementia+101%22&iso=20170824T07&p1=240&ah=1&am=30

You will receive an email confirmation that contains login details and instructions on how to join the online Webinar.

COST TO ATTEND:

Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

  • DAI MEMBER: FREE
  • UNEMPLOYED CARER: FREE
  • EMPLOYED OR SELF EMPLOYED PERSON REDUCED FEE: $US20
  • UNEMPLOYED STUDENTS: FREE (please send proof of your student ID to info@infodai.org)

DAI has to rely on an HONOUR registration system.

If you are employed or SELF employed, please do not register as an unemployed family supporter (carer) or a member of DAI. The VERY modest fee for this service supports your education, and also supports our work, which most importantly, directly enables people with dementia to live with a higher quality of life.

If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us at info@infodai.org

Your donations are always appreciated and do make a difference:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees

  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee

  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription

  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Option: Our event ticketer, Eventbrite, charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International.

Save This Event

Event Saved