Conrad Tao, piano and Caleb Teicher, tap dance [CONCERT]

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time



Online Event

Event description
This not-to-be-missed evening is the product of a brilliant partnership of two rapidly rising stars.

About this Event


This not-to-be-missed evening is the product of a brilliant partnership of two rapidly rising stars. The admirable pianist and composer Conrad Tao is a Lincoln Center Emerging Artist who galvanized New York Philharmonic audiences as the soloist in his Everything Must Go. Caleb Teicher is Dance Magazine’s Best Emerging Choreographer, with compelling recent works cited in The New York Times rundown of Best Dance of 2018. Each earns raves for electric performances; together, they are astonishing in Counterpoints, a program of music and dance both composed and improvised. Dancing to J. S. Bach’s Goldberg Variations, “Teicher slaps the pallets with lightning speed, leaping from one to the other for contrast, matching Tao, note for accelerated note." (NPR Music). Teicher’s comment captures the essence of their collaboration: “…it's hard to sense where the music starts and the dancing ends, or where the dancing starts and the music ends. They're just one."

For updates and extras, visit



J.S. BACH Goldberg Variations, selections, BWV 988

J.S. BACH Sarabande from French Suite no. 5 in G major, BWV 816


GERSHWIN Rhapsody in Blue, arr. for solo piano

SCHOENBERG Five Piano Pieces, op. 23


The 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress: Virtually the best

Our 2020-2021 season will be presented entirely virtually, through a freshly-conceived portal to our concerts, conversations, lectures and much more, available free of charge to everyone. In our 96th season, encountering unprecedented times and unpredictable challenges, we embark on an exciting venture: to share our concerts, and the Library’s magnificent music collections, with the widest possible audience worldwide. New music and new media come together in a year that sees a mini-fest of Latinx composers and the world premieres of four new Library of Congress commissions. Two virtual residencies feature the JACK Quartet and violinist Jennifer Koh, visionary artists fired by a passion to reflect the rich diversity in our society and our music. (Re)Hearing Beethoven is a festive 250th birthday celebration you absolutely can’t miss: performances of revelatory transcriptions of the composer’s nine symphonies introduced by artists and scholars in programs devised for deep immersion in our Beethoven treasures.

How to watch 2020 Events

Starting at 8pm on the scheduled premiere date, each video will be available on the following platforms:

Missed the premiere? No problem—watch any time on each event page listed above or the Library’s YouTube channel.

Support free programming at the Library of Congress by joining the Friends of Music.


Share with friends

Date and Time


Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved