$22 – $55

Chez Zee Author-Speaker Series 2018

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Chez Zee American Bistro

5406 Balcones Drive

Austin, TX 78731

View Map

Event description

Description

Chez Zee Author-Speaker series, featuring celebrated authors and speakers, is co-hosted by Cari Clark, avid reader, and Sharon Watkins, book and library cheerleader.

The venue for these events is The Gallery, Chez Zee American Bistro, 5406 Balcones Dr. Austin TX 78731.

The event admission includes appetizers, dessert bites, tea, coffee, and cash bar. You're welcome to make dinner reservations at Chez Zee before or after the event.

TICKETS:

Please see options on the top right of the page. Select a Date and Buy Tickets. There are several different ticket options* so PLEASE SCROLL DOWN to see all of these before you buy!!

*To avoid waiting in line to pay for your wine, you may pre-purchase your drinks along with your ticket.

*Bring a friend and save 20%! See options under "Tickets".

All events are 6 pm to 8 pm. You are welcome to come a few minutes early to enjoy some drinks and mingle. For questions, please call 512.454.2666.

Season Schedule:

Tuesday January 23rd 2018 (Rescheduled from Jan 16th)
S.C. Gwynne, author of Empire of the Summer Moon, The Perfect Pass and Rebel Yell

Tuesday February 6th 2018
Kate Winkler Dawson, author of Death in the Air

Tuesday March 13th 2018
Matthew Dowd, author of A New Way

Tuesday April 10th 2018
Victoria Price, author of The Way of Being Lost: A Road Trip to My Truest Self

Tuesday May 8th 2018
Helen Thorpe, author of The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship and Hope in an American Classroom

Tuesday January 23rd 2018 (Rescheduled from Jan 16th)
S.C. Gwynne, author of Empire of the Summer Moon, The Perfect Pass and Rebel Yell
S.C. Gwynne has spent the last few years writing for Texas Monthly, where he was Executive Editor from 2000-2008. His work included cover stories on White House advisor Karl Rove, NASA, the King Ranch, football player Johnny Manziel, the University of Texas, and Southwest Airlines. His 2005 story on lethal Houston surgeon Eric Scheffey was published in “The Best American Crime Writing, 2006” by Harper Perennial Press. In 2008 he won the National City and Regional Magazine Award for “Writer of the Year.” He also writes for Outside magazine.

He is the author of three books, Selling Money, about his years as an international banker, and The Outlaw Bank about the $20 billion BCCI bank fraud. Outlaw Bank was named one of Business WeekMagazine’s Top Ten Books of the year. In May 2010 his book Empire of the Summer Moon was published by Scribner. The book spent four months on the New York Times top 10 Bestseller list. Empire was later a finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award, and won the Texas Book Award and the Oklahoma Book Award.

credit: www.scgwynne.com

Tuesday February 6th 2018
Kate Winkler Dawson, author of Death in the Air

Kate Winkler Dawson is a seasoned documentary producer, whose work has appeared in The New York Times, WCBS News and ABC News Radio, Fox News Channel, United Press International, PBS NewsHour, and Nightline. She teaches journalism at The University of Texas at Austin.

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson’s debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing.

In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands of coal-burning hearths belched particulate matter into the air. But the smog that descended on December 5th of 1952 was different; it was a type that held the city hostage for five long days. Mass transit ground to a halt, criminals roamed the streets, and 12,000 people died. That same month, there was another killer at large in London: John Reginald Christie, who murdered at least six women. In a braided narrative that draws on extensive interviews, never-before-published material, and archival research, Dawson captivatingly recounts the intersecting stories of the these two killers and their longstanding impact on modern history.

credit: www.katewinklerdawson.com, www.amazon.com

Tuesday March 13th 2018
Matthew Dowd, author of A New Way

The United States is in a time of profound change and division. Americans are desperate for leaders with integrity to help them thrive during this troubling period, but their search has increasingly come up empty. They need leaders who can place country over political party, community over profit, and the Constitution over personal power. These people must balance old values with contradictory new ideas. They must be able to embrace paradox and be humble servant leaders.

In A New Way, New York Times best-selling coauthor and strategist Matthew Dowd, inspired by turbulent times in his own life, shares his model for leadership. He also breaks down the eight paradoxes an innovative leader must embrace:

  • Truth and Uncertainty
  • Fear and Love
  • Confidence and Humility
  • Heart and Head
  • Big Vision and Local Action
  • Realism and Idealism
  • Boundaries and Openness
  • Delegation and Accountability

A New Way offers a model for leadership when America needs it most. It allows us to maintain values from our past while looking to the future and working for a better tomorrow.
(Credit: amazon.com)

Tuesday April 10th 2018
Victoria Price, author of The Way of Being Lost: A Road Trip to My Truest Self

Despite doing “all the right things” to successfully rebuild her life and her finances after a period of deep personal and professional turmoil where she lost almost everything, Victoria Price still felt something profoundly missing from her life. Victoria Price’s inspirational memoir is a heartfelt, candid account of rediscovering her joy and purpose after years of struggle, confusion and hopelessness.
(credit: www.victoriaprice.com)

Tuesday May 8th 2018
Helen Thorpe, author of The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship and Hope in an American Classroom

From an award-winning, “meticulously observant” (The New Yorker) writer comes a powerful and moving account of how refugee teenagers at a Denver public high school learn English and become Americans, in the care of a compassionate teacher.

The Newcomers follows the lives of twenty-two immigrant teenagers throughout the course of the 2015-2016 school year as they land at South High School in Denver, Colorado, in an English Language Acquisition class created specifically for them. Speaking no English, unfamiliar with American culture, their stories are poignant and remarkable as they face the enormous challenge of adapting. These newcomers, from fourteen to nineteen years old, come from nations convulsed by drought or famine or war. Many come directly from refugee camps, after experiencing dire forms of cataclysm. Some arrive alone, having left or lost every other member of their original family.
(credit:amazon.com)

CLICK HERE TO SEE A CLIP OF CARI'S INTERVIEW WITH STEVE HARRIGAN

https://youtu.be/ZZ3p8Ue-OVM







Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Chez Zee American Bistro

5406 Balcones Drive

Austin, TX 78731

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved