$250 – $20,000

Chain Reaction 2019 | A New Moment

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time




201 Franklin Street

San Francisco, CA 94102

View Map

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description


New congressional leadership, the dynamic start of the presidential campaigns, and a new wave of citizen activism gives us promise that we can prevent the worst from happening in the current administration and forge a saner nuclear policy for the next.

Today, we see hope amassed in A New Moment. Together, we have the opportunity to reshape the national debate on nuclear strategy.

A series of events so related to each other that each one initiates the next is known as a Chain Reaction. Every year we gather leaders in our field, devoted partners, and new advocates to generate a nexus of ideas, opportunities, and strategies to advance nuclear policy and promote the elimination of nuclear weapons. We hope you’ll join us this year – and each year following – and be a key ingredient in our formula for change.

Ticket Information

$20,000 Sally Lilienthal – 12 tickets to the event, verbal recognition during the program, and all other benefits offered at the Owen Chamberlain, Albert Einstein, and Jonathan Schell levels

$10,000 Owen Chamberlain – 8 tickets to the event, on-screen recognition during the program, reserved seating during the program, and all other benefits offered at the Albert Einstein and Jonathan Schell levels

$5,000 Albert Einstein – 6 tickets to the event, access to the VIP reception for two, name recognition on event signage, and all other benefits offered at the Jonathan Schell level

$2,500 Jonathan Schell – 4 tickets to the event, name recognition in the printed program, and recognition on the Ploughshares Fund website and in the 2019 annual report

Individual ticket$250 each

Special VIP Reception for sponsors at the Sally Lilienthal, Owen Chamberlain, and Albert Einstein levels at 5:00pm.


Board Chair Terry Gamble Boyer | Master of Ceremonies

Beatrice Fihn | Keynote Address

President Joe Cirincione | A New Moment, a special State of Nuclear Policy address

Rachel Pike | Tribute to Lewis H. Butler

Emma Belcher

Ben Rhodes

Eric Schlosser

Alex Wellerstein

For additional bio information on our speakers, visit ploughshares.org/chainreaction2019.

Other speakers to be announced.

Business Attire | Hors d’Oeuvres | Cocktails | Dessert Reception

Chain Reaction Committee

Phil Ames, John Feikema, Connie Foote, John and Ginna Grossman, Victoria Lilienthal, Lisille Matheson, Rachel Pike, Lee Ali Shirani, and Daniel U. Smith

Host Committee


Nion McEvoy and Leslie Berriman

Guy and Jeanine Saperstein

Honorary members

Lewis H. Butler, Congresswoman Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA), Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D-CA), Congressman Ted Lieu (D-CA), The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House, Secretary William J. Perry, and Secretary George P. Shultz

Sally Lilienthal Sponsors

Steven and Roberta Denning, Nion McEvoy and Leslie Berriman, and Guy and Jeanine Saperstein

Owen Chamberlain Sponsors

Heins-Mills Family Fund of the Minneapolis Foundation

Albert Einstein Sponsors

Phil and Sabrina Ames, Colonial Consulting, LLC, Terry Gamble Boyer and Peter Boyer, First Republic Bank, Pamela Hamamoto, Victoria Lilienthal and Tom Dreyer, Nasiri Foundation, Julie and Will Parish, Lucinda Lee and Daniel U. Smith, and Roselyne Chroman Swig

Jonathan Schell Sponsors

James B. Blume and Kathryn W. Frank, Tom Cohen and Kristi Denton Cohen, John F. Dains, Sallie De Golia and Martin Bronk, Becky Draper, John and Tawnie Farmer, John and Mary Feikema, Connie Foote, Dorothie and Martin Hellman, Grace Hughes, ISU Insurance, Tabitha Jordan, Marty Krasney, Lisille and Henry Matheson, and Anne and Robert Pedrero

For more information and to purchase tickets: ploughshares.org/chainreaction2019 or contact Bonnie Fisk at 415-668-2244 or bfisk@ploughshares.org.

Share with friends

Date and Time



201 Franklin Street

San Francisco, CA 94102

View Map

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved