CANCELLED - Virtual ASciNA Talk: Daniela Gandorfer, Logische Phantasie Lab

Actions and Detail Panel

Postponed

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Virtual ASciNA Talk hosted by ASciNA Chapter Greater New York City

About this event

CANCELLED - TO BE RESCHEDULED

Virtual ASciNA Talk

Indeterminate Nature of Crypto-Governance: Does Law Matter?

January 17th, 2022

10:00 AM Pacific / 12:00 PM Central / 1:00 PM Eastern / 19:00h MEZ

Speaker: Daniela Gandorfer, Co-Director & Head of Research, Logische Phantasie Lab

Recipient of the 2021 ASciNA Young Scientist Awards

Zoom Link will be provided after registration on the online event page (click "Access the event").

Abstract:

Intertwined phenomena such as human-induced climate change, global rise of authoritarian systems alongside the demise of democratic structures, and crypto-technological developments are inducing significant and differential shifts in the conditions of human and non-human existence, providing a fertile ground for experiments in organizing, governing, and imagining societies differently. Consequently, modes of private tech-governance (such as start-up societies, seasteading micronations, smart cities, and space colonies) are on the rise. This talk traces the ontological and epistemological assumptions of such projects and asks how – and if – law can matter differently.

Short-Bio:

Daniela Gandorfer earned her PhD from Princeton University. She is the co-founder of the Logische Phantasie Lab and Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Her work lies at the intersection of science and technology studies, law, and philosophy and focuses on the ethics of sensing and sense-making in technological and scientific "frontier spaces." In addition to her various article, book chapter, and essay publications, Daniela co-edited the notable "Matterphorical" special issue of Theory & Event Journal (Johns Hopkins Press, January 2021) and, most recently, the Research Handbook in Law and Literature (Edward Elgar Publishing, forthcoming 2022). Her book Matterphorics: On the Laws of Theory is forthcoming with Duke University Press.

Rewatch previous Virtual ASciNA Talks via the ASciNA YouTube Channel.


		CANCELLED - Virtual ASciNA Talk: Daniela Gandorfer, Logische Phantasie Lab image

Credit: Dejan Ivković

Date and time

Location

Online event

Organizer ASciNA

Organizer of CANCELLED - Virtual ASciNA Talk: Daniela Gandorfer, Logische Phantasie Lab

Save This Event

Event Saved