$0 – $23.90

Brenda Peynado: The Rock Eaters w/ Danielle Evans

Actions and Detail Panel

$0 – $23.90

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
"The Rock Eaters is the work of an imagination that brooks no limits, that claims, masterfully, all territories as its own." —Clare Beams

About this event

Community Guidelines:

By registering for this event, you agree to be respectful towards authors and other audience members and to refrain from inappropriate or disruptive behavior and/or harassment of any kind including, but not limited to: hate speech, spam comments, slurs, obscenities, etc. Any attendees who violate these community guidelines will be immediately ejected from this event and barred from attending all future Books Are Magic events.

To request accessibility accommodations, please contact assistant@booksaremagic.net.

A story collection, in the vein of Carmen Maria Machado, Kelly Link and Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, spanning worlds and dimensions, using strange and speculative elements to tackle issues ranging from class differences to immigration to first generation experiences to xenophobia.

What does it mean to be other?

This question murmurs in the heart of each of Brenda Peynado’s strange and singular stories. Threaded with magic, transcending time and place, these stories explore what it means to cross borders and break down walls, personally and politically. In one story, suburban families perform oblations to cattle-like angels who live on their roofs, believing that their “thought and prayers” will protect them from the world’s violence. In another, inhabitants of an unnamed dictatorship slowly lose their own agency as pieces of their bodies go missing and, with them, the essential rights that those appendages serve. “The Great Escape” tells of an old woman who hides away in her apartment, reliving the past amongst beautiful objects she’s hoarded, refusing all visitors, until she disappears completely. In the title story, children begin to levitate, flying away from their parents and their home country, leading them to eat rocks in order to stay grounded.

With elements of science fiction and fantasy, fabulism and magical realism, Brenda Peynado uses her stories to reflect our flawed world, and the incredible, terrifying and marvelous nature of humanity.

Brenda Peynado’s stories have won an O. Henry Award, a Pushcart Prize, the Chicago Tribune’s Nelson Algren Literary Award, selection for The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy and The Best Small Fictions, a Dana Award, a Fulbright grant to the Dominican Republic, and other awards. Her fiction appears in The Georgia Review, The Sun (London), The Southern Review, The Kenyon Review, The Threepenny Review, Prairie Schooner, and more than forty other journals. She received her MFA at Florida State University and her PhD at the University of Cincinnati. She currently teaches in the MFA program at the University of Central Florida. This will be her first collection.

Danielle Evans is the author of the story collections The Office of Historical Corrections and Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self. Her work has won awards and honors including the PEN American Robert W. Bingham Prize, the Hurston-Wright award for fiction, and a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. Her stories have appeared in magazines and anthologies including The Paris Review, American Short Fiction, Callaloo, and The Best American Short Stories. She teaches in The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Save This Event

Event Saved