BookIT Talk with Kate Darling, The New Breed

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
BookIT talk with Kate Darling, The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots (Henry Holt and Co. 2021)

About this event

BookIT talk with Kate Darling hosted by Chicago-Kent College of Law. Registration is required. We will email you a link to the online book talk the day before the event by 5 pm CST. (Check your spam folder just in case.)

About the book

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots—inspired by how we interact with animals—could be the key to making our future with robotic technology work.

There has been a lot of ink devoted to discussions of how robots will replace us and take our jobs. But MIT Media Lab researcher and technology policy expert Kate Darling argues just the opposite, and that treating robots with a bit of humanity, more like the way we treat animals, will actually serve us better. From a social, legal, and ethical perspective, she shows that our current ways of thinking don’t leave room for the robot technology that is soon to become part of our everyday routines. Robots are likely to supplement—rather than replace—our own skills and relationships. So if we consider our history of incorporating animals into our work, transportation, military, and even families, we actually have a solid basis for how to contend with this future.

A deeply original analysis of our technological future and the ethical dilemmas that await us, The New Breed explains how the treatment of machines can reveal a new understanding of our own history, our own systems and how we relate—not just to non-humans, but also to each other.

About the author

Dr. Kate Darling is a leading expert in robot ethics. She’s a researcher at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Media Lab, a fellow at the Harvard Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society, and a former fellow at the Yale Information Society Project. Darling’s work has been featured by the New Yorker, the Guardian, PBS, the Boston Globe, Wired, Slate, NPR, and more.

Date and time

Location

Online event

Organizer Chicago-Kent Center for Design, Law & Technology

Organizer of BookIT Talk with Kate Darling, The New Breed

Chicago-Kent’s Center for Design, Law & Technology (c∆) promotes research, scholarship, and instruction at the intersection of creativity, technology, design, and the law.  Founded in 2018 by Professors Graeme Dinwoodie and Edward Lee, c∆ is the first U.S. institution devoted to research of design, design law protection, and technology.

Save This Event

Event Saved