$5 – $25

Multiple Dates

Book Club 4 --> Decolonize Hipsters by Grégory Pierrot

Actions and Detail Panel

$5 – $25
$5 – $25

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

No Refunds

Event description
Friendly guided discussion of Decolonize Hipsters followed by a conversation with Grégory Pierrot!

About this event

Featuring Greg Pierrot's DECOLONIZE HIPSTERS

Conversation and book club will be hosted by Jeremy Glick.

Book Club!

July 21 Wednesday

11am New York | 5 pm Johannesburg | 4pm Paris

The author will join the book for the final half hour to chat with members of the book club.

Conversation with Greg Pierrot

July 21 Wednesday

12.30pm New York |6.30pm Johannesburg | 5.30 pm Paris

About the Book

Few urban critters are more reviled than the hipster. They are notoriously difficult to define, and yet we know one when we see one. No wonder: they were among the global cultural phenomena that ushered in the 21st century. They have become a bulwark of mainstream culture, cultural commodity, status, butt of all jokes and ready-made meme.

But frightening as it is to imagine, for more than a century hipsters have been lurking among us. Defined by their appearances and the cloud of meaning attached to them—the cool vanguard of gentrification, the personification of capitalism with a conscience—hipsters are all looks, and these looks are a visual timeline to America’s past and present.

Underlining this timeline is the pattern of American popular culture’s love/hate/theft relationship with Black culture. Yet the pattern of recycling has reached a chilling point: the 21st century hipster made all possible past fads into new trends, including and especially the old uncool. In Decolonize Hipsters, Grégory Pierrot gives us a field guide to the phenomenon, a symptom and vanguard of the wave of aggressive white supremacist sentiment now oozing from around the globe.

About the Author

Grégory Pierrot is a professor at the University of Connecticut at Stamford. He is the author of The Black Avenger in Atlantic Culture, co-editor of the forthcoming An Anthology of Haitian Revolutionary Fictions, and co-host of the Decolonize That! webcast series.

Share with friends

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved