Free

Black Lives Matter COVID-19 Learning Pods

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Online Tutoring for Bay Area African Ancestry Students of Essential Workers, Healthcare, Civil Servants and Teachers. (Grades - 1st - 12th )

About this Event

The COVID-19 BLM Learning Pods Project provides 24+ hours of free online tutoring by scholarship to Bay Area African Ancestry Students (Grades 1st - 12th) of Essential Workers, Healthcare, Civil Servants and Teachers. The project will provide:

  • Online academic support opportunities (homework help)
  • Support the experience of synchronous and asynchronous school learning
  • Intervention and enrichment activities for Math, English and Digital literacy
  • Tutors from Historical Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Stanford University, SJSU and local partners
  • Online parent engagement discussions to help navigate education during COVID-19
  • College readiness, cultural and health empowerment activities
  • Technology references and sources while supplies last

START DATE & DURATION: November 9 - December 22 (6 week program) 12+ Sessions

TIMES:

Elementary School

  • 1st through 5th grade - MON & WED 3pm-5pm PST (6pm-8pm EST)

OR

  • 1st through 6th grade - TUES & THURS 3pm-5pm PST (6pm-8pm EST)

Middle School (7th-8th)

  • 7th and 8th grade - MON & WED 5pm-7pm PST (8pm-10pm EST)

High School (9th-12th)

  • 9th through 12 grade - TUES & THURS 5pm-7pm PST (8pm-10pm EST)

Enrichment Activities For Middle School & High School attendees only

  • Cultural/Health & Skills Development FRIDAYS 5pm-7pm PST (8pm-10pm EST)
  • HBCU College SATURDAYS 11am-1pm PST (2pm-4pm EST)

"Together We will survive and thrive during COVID-19"

Sponsored By Amazon, HP Inc., KLA Tencor & Santa Clara County Office of Education. Special thanks to Morehouse Alumni Association, A Black Educators Network (ABEN), Stanford University, Santa Clara Alliance of Black Educators, Green Scholars Program, Bay Area Black Nurses Association, BLKC of San Jose, Silicon Valley Black Chamber of Commerce, Silicon Valley NAACP, San Jose African American Community Service Agency and many others.

If you or your organization would like to support this project, please contact Carol Been @ partnerships@bayareatutor.org.

Powered By Bay Area Tutoring Association.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved