CA$0 – CA$30

AugurCon: Your Full-Day Online Speculative Literature Event

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 1 day before event

Event description
Join the Augur Magazine Literary Society for our first online speculative literature event, featuring 18+ panelists over 8 hours!

About this Event

On Saturday, November 28, join the Augur Magazine Literary Society and 18+ panelists from across Canada and the United States for the inAUGURal VIRTUAL AugurCon! We’re thrilled to invite Augurians from around the world to enjoy programming at our first full-day online speculative literature event.

AugurCon is an eight-hour day full of panels, workshops, and industry learning opportunities. Our panelists will explore what it means to research and craft speculative worlds that are inherently informed by our own; to interrogate the opportunities and dangers of leveraging metaphor and analogy in fiction; to break into publishing in the first place, featuring advice from industry experts; and, really, what it means to have a “Canadian” speculative canon at all.

Are you a creator? Then we have three sessions with limited slots built just for you: when you register, snag a spot in our fiction workshop, poetry workshop, or industry AMA programming, and boost your skills.

Register today and we’ll see you online on the 28th!

Many thanks to our sponsor the Toronto Arts Council for providing us with the funds that helped make this event possible.

Hear from the authors, editors, and professionals we’ve invited to speak at the following panels and workshops:

Breaking Down the Gate: What Editors + Publishers Want

11:00 AM EST / 8:00 AM PST to 12:00 PM EST / 9:00 AM PST

Moderated by Augur Magazine Editor Anna Bendiy

Featuring panelists Chimedum Ohaegbu, Jen Albert, Arley Sorg, Léonicka Valcius

Building Better: World-Building from the Dystopian Now

12:30 PM EST / 9:30 AM PST to 1:30 PM EST / 10:30 AM PST

Moderated by Augur Magazine Co-Editor-in-Chief Lawrence Stewen

Featuring panelists Sarah Raughley, Rati Mehrotra, Fonda Lee, Omar el Akkad

#CanSpec: Speculative Fiction in the Canadian Literary Canon

2:00 PM EST / 11:00 AM PST to 3:00 EST / 12:00 PM PST

Moderated by Augur Magazine Publisher Kerry Seljak-Byrne

Featuring panelists Dominik Parisien, Jael Richardson, Larissa Lai, Kai Cheng Thom

Problematic and/or Powerful: Allegory, Analogy, and Spec Fic

3:30 PM EST / 12:30 PM PST to 4:30 PM EST / 1:30 PM PST

Moderated by Augur Magazine Co-Editor-in-Chief Terese Mason Pierre

Featuring panelists Daniel Heath Justice, Evan Winter, Amal El-Mohtar, Amanda Leduc

Featured Conversation

5:00 PM EST / 2:00 PM PST to 6:00 PM EST / 3:00 PM PST

Panelists: Jael Richardson, Joshua Whitehead

Moderator: Larissa Lai

Or if you’re looking to invest in your skills, join us for our workshops!

Poetry Workshop

11:30 AM EST / 8:30 AM PST to 12:30 PM EST / 9:30 AM PST

Led by Augur Magazine Co-Editor-in-Chief and Poet Terese Mason Pierre and Award-Winning Editor and Poet Dominik Parisien

Fiction Workshop

3:00 PM EST / 12:00 PM PST to 4:00 PM EST / 1:00 PM PST

Led by Augur Magazine Managing Editor Victoria Liao and Award-Winning Uncanny Magazine Managing Editor Chimedum Ohaegbu

PLUS!

Book your spot for our Industry AMA!

1:00 PM EST / 10:00 AM PST to 2:00 PM EST / 11:00 AM PST

Moderated by Augur Magazine Submissions Manager Sean Dowie

When you look at the publishing industry, do you find yourself just burning with questions? Join this one-hour session with literary agent Kim-Mei Kirtland (HMLA) and editor Amanda Betts (Penguin Random House) where you can send your questions ahead and have them answered live. And let’s face it: if you’re asking it, someone else probably needs it answered!

Ready to register? You’ll be able to choose from the following ticket types.

Earlybird Day Pass

Be one of the first 25 people to register for the event and get an exclusive early bird price on the Day Pass. (You know how we feel about birds here at Augur!)

Day Pass

Get your day pass to access the full day of panels, workshops, and the extra-exciting AugurCon discord.

Student Pass

Currently attending school? Get a special ticket price to attend the full day of panels, workshops, and the AugurCon discord. No proof of enrollment required.

Attend On Us

If money is a barrier, join us for free—no questions asked. Your ticket gives you access to the equivalent of a Day Pass.

Workshop Access - Sold out!

Interested in a workshop? We're sold out of all spots, but there will be a waitlist option available on your ticket order form once you select "checkout".

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 1 day before event

Save This Event

Event Saved