Anand Giridharadas with Anat Shenker-Osorio

Actions Panel

Anand Giridharadas with Anat Shenker-Osorio

In our polarized, partisan world, don't give up on the power of persuasion, says journalist Anand Giridharadas.

When and where

Date and time

Location

Kepler's Books 1010 El Camino Real #100 Menlo Park, CA 94025

Map and directions

How to get there

Refund Policy

About this event

It's no big news that America is polarized. A summer poll from the University of Chicago found that nearly three in four Americans characterized members of the opposing party as “generally bullies who want to impose their political beliefs on those who disagree” - three out of four! But Anand Giridharadas believes the art of convincing the opposition isn't dead. His new book The Persuaders: At The Front Lines Of The Fight For Hearts, Minds, and Democracy introduces us to political activists who - for better or worse - haven't given up on the art of persuasion.

Giridharadas profiles successful movers and shakers, including a founder of Black Lives Matter; a Qanon deprogrammer; Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and Bernie Sanders; and - on a grimmer note - Russian operatives bent on destroying Americans' bonds with each other. From each case, he derives lessons of language, persistence, and empathy that can change minds.

Fans of Giridharadas's Winners Take All, The True American, and India Calling will want to join us for these intriguing and revealing reflections on human nature.

Anand with be in conversation with Anat Shenker-Osorio founder and Principal of ASO Communications and author of Don’t Buy It: The Trouble with Talking Nonsense About the Economy.

Please note: All attendees ages 5+ must present a vaccination card, a photo of your card, or a digital vaccine record (e.g., myvaccinerecord.cdph.ca.gov) with matching photo ID. We also require a first booster for eligible attendees ages 12+. Masks are required for everyone over the age of 2 years old and must be worn at all times in the store, and throughout the duration of the event, including the signing.

**If we feel it is unsafe to gather in person as the event gets closer, this will become a virtual event and your tickets will remain valid. To ensure the safety of our guests, staff and authors we are limiting capacity. Buy your tickets to guarantee access!**