An Evening with Fannie Flagg at the Lyric Theatre
Sold Out
An Evening with Fannie Flagg at the Lyric Theatre

An Evening with Fannie Flagg at the Lyric Theatre

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

The Lyric Theatre

1800 3rd Avenue North

Birmingham, AL 35203

View Map

Friends Who Are Going
Event description

Description

Join us for an evening with celebrated and bestselling author Fannie Flagg at the historic Lyric Theatre in Birmingham, Alabama on Friday, December 9th beginning at 7p.m. (CT). Reserve your seat now for an evening of lively and candid conversation with Fannie on stage. Fannie will share her experiences with us and read passages from her new book, The Whole Town's Talking. Janice Rogers, host of Good Day Alabama, will join her on stage for the question and answer portion of the program. If you would like to ask Fannie a question, please fill out a card in the lobby area before you enter the theatre. Questions will be pulled from the submissions and Fannie will answer a few of those questions on stage during the program.

Books-A-Million will provide pre-signed copies of her new book for sale in the lobby of the Lyric before and after the presentation. Fannie will also be available on-stage for a meet and greet, photo opportunity following the program. For more information, please contact Books-A-Million at 205-870-0213.

About the book:

From Booklist -

In 1889, Swedish immigrant Lordor Nordstrom buys farmland in Missouri and sets up a town from scratch. Thus begins Flagg's latest, which follows the development of Elmwood Springs and the lives of its inhabitants from the turn of the twentieth century through the present, with stops at all the major events along the way (both world wars, the Great Depression, the age of bobby-soxers, the big-box takeover of suburbia). Readers meet a host of characters and watch them grow, but there's a twist: when residents die, they are buried in Still Meadows cemetery, which looks over the town- quite literally. That's right; the recently dead remain, watching the world change as time goes by. Flagg doesn't stray far from her winsome and winning formula; adorable town with a cute history, check. Quirky characters, check. Nostalgic look at America, check. Readers may recognize that Flagg has visited Elmwood Springs before (Standing in the Rainbow, 2002). and there are appearances by characters from her previous novels. Fans of Maeve Binchy and Lorna Landvik will adore this charming tale.

The Whole Town's Talking $28 plus tax at the event. We will also have copies of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe available as well as copies of the December issue of Southern Living for sale which features a story written by Fannie Flagg.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

The Lyric Theatre

1800 3rd Avenue North

Birmingham, AL 35203

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved