Donation

Alexander Technique Online Reading Group - October 2020

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description
Join Amanda MacDonald and Senior teacher Beret Arcaya online each week for reading, conversation, and community.

About this Event

Please join us each week as we read together from F.M. Alexander's books and discuss how his words have meaning for us today. We are currently reading "Conscious Constructive Control of the Individual."

NO BOOK NECESSARY. Excerpts will be read out loud as part of the gathering.

___________________________________________________________

Registration includes live reading and conversation every Friday online, PLUS recordings of the discussion and a private Facebook group.

Pay-What-You-Can (Suggested $20-$80 per month).

Fridays in October

9pm Berlin / 8pm London / 4pm Halifax /

3pm EST / 2pm CST / 1pm MST / 12 noon PST

_______________________________________________________________________

About Beret:

Beret Arcaya has maintained ongoing, concomitant careers in classical singing and acting (performing and teaching) and the Alexander Technique (teaching) since 1981.

Dedicated to the highest standards of practice, Beret is one of few Alexander Technique teachers to undertake two trainings, and is considered to be one of the most established, authentic, and dedicated Alexander teachers alive today.

Beret did her musical training at the Juilliard School and the Manhattan School of Music and studied acting intensively with Uta Hagen in New York City. She has performed in everything from Equity summer stock to soap opera (NBC, CBS and ABC) and film (MGM) to chamber music and opera (she won first prize at the Puccini Foundation vocal competition, made her debut at Avery Fischer Hall and has sung in the U.S., Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Italy and Venezuela.)

She earned her teaching certificate in Alexander Technique at the American Center for the Alexander Technique – New York (ACAT-NY) Teacher Training Program under Judith Liebowitz in 1981. She undertook three additional years of training in London with Walter and Dilys Carrington at The Constructive Teaching Center (CTC). She has combined her knowledge of music and the Alexander Technique in Master Classes for singers and musicians given all over Europe, most notably at the Salzburg Easter Festival under the auspices of the Kominsky Foundation.

Beret was an ACAT board member from 1982-1985 and a founding member of the North American Society of Teachers of the Alexander Technique (NASTAT), now known as (AmSAT). Currently she is a member of the Spanish (APTAE), English (STAT) and American (AmSAT) Societies for the Alexander Technique.

You can preview her eBook "Understanding the Singing Voice" and learn more about Beret on her website: https://www.habitandchoice.com/

About Amanda: (see bio below)

Share with friends

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved