4th Annual San Diego Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Actions Panel

4th Annual San Diego Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

2022's Hall of Fame class honors six gifted contributors, who generously represented San Diego music, locally and around the world.

When and where

Date and time


Newbreak 4694 Cape May Avenue San Diego, CA 92107

Map and directions

How to get there

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 7 days before event
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

The San Diego Music Hall of Fame (SDMHOF) is holding its 4th annual induction event at Newbreak Church, 4694 Cape May Avenue, in Ocean Beach San Diego. The event kicks off at 7 p.m. Friday, November 11, 2022, Veteran’s Day. The SDMHOF was founded to celebrate the city’s rich musical past and to honor over a century of great music in San Diego. The SDMHOF’s members include Eagles’ songwriter Jack Tempchin, pop superstar Jason Mraz, legendary rockers The Beat Farmers, and boogie-woogie pianist Sue Palmer.

The San Diego Music Hall of Fame Class of 2022 honors an eclectic group of musicians with a focus on the contributions of educators and the military. Marine Band San Diego is an institution with over a century of musical contributions, local and globally. The SDMHOF is honored to celebrate the thousands of Marines who have served at this year’s Veteran’s Day event.

San Diego-raised Gustavo Romero, an award-winning classical pianist since age 10, has earned international acclaim. Despite global prestige, Romero has offered an annual series of concerts at La Jolla’s Athenaeum Music & Arts Library for over 20 years and is a faculty member of The University of North Texas. Chris Hillman, an original member of The Byrds and The Flying Burrito Brothers, is a key figure in the development of country rock music.

Jeannie and Jimmy Cheatham were known as the blues/jazz duo, The Cheathams. Jimmy Cheatham led the jazz program at University of California, San Diego from 1978-2005 before his passing in 2007. Larry Zeiger was a legendary local music educator, leading musical theater productions at Point Loma High School, where the performing arts center is named in his honor, for over 30 years.

Alex DePue was a world-class violinist, known far and wide as “The Fiddler.” He passed away in a car accident in January 2022. In August 2021, DePue married Aria Noelle Curzon-DePue. She will receive the 2022 Dawn Steel Award for Strength for her fortitude in the face of this tragedy.

“The SDMHOF honors musical contributors, who have committed their lives to music and San Diego,” said SD Music Hall of Fame founder and host, Jefferson Jay, “There is a rich history of great music in San Diego. We are celebrating our community, enhancing awareness and opportunities for musicians in our beloved home.”

Inductee Gustavo Romero is scheduled to perform as are San Diego Music Hall of Famer Sue Palmer, vocalist Liz Ajuzie, Jeff Berkley and The Banned, violinist Jamie Shadowlight, Victor Viberos & Daniel Aispuro, hip -hop humorist Rob Deez, and SDMHOF house band, Gato Papacitos.

A portion of the proceeds will go to The Dawn Steel Award for Strength recipient, given annually to members of the SD music family, who have showed strength in the face of adversity. It will be a moving evening of entertainment and local music history, celebrating the inductees and their contributions. There will be beverages and snacks available, as well as event merchandise, and a silent auction.