22nd Annual MLK Legacy Youth Awards

Actions Panel

22nd Annual MLK Legacy Youth Awards

The annual MLK Luncheon recognizes students that have been nominated for displaying the excellent traits of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

When and where

Date and time


DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown 455 South Broadway Tarrytown, NY 10591

Map and directions

How to get there

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

  • 2 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile eTicket

Scholarship awards will go to seven students who are beacons of light within their communities. The students selected have devoted their time and energy to Dr. King’s principles of non-violent social change. The awards that are presented to students are as follows:

Building Bridges: This recipient took appropriate action to raise awareness and implement a project to unify a group and establish a medium for the common good of others.

Peace & Non-Violence: Through positive community-focused actions, this award recipient successfully addressed a social conflict and organized or participated in events to reinforce effective communication and problem-solving strategies.

Social Action: This awardee organized an activity and/or event to promote change to a social, political or environmental issue.

Social Justice: This award recipient upholds a standard of integrity and focuses on the pursuit of fairness, justice, and the equitable distribution of resources for all.

Spirit of Love: This young person engages in activities or events to provide respite or relief to others. This youth may be the architect behind the achievements of others, such as a tutor or mentor.

Vision: This young adult has raised awareness and implemented a plan to provide adequate services to individuals while, crossing race, class and gender barriers.

William L. Carter Perseverance Award: This award will be given to the student who reflects a strong commitment to community service and takes a leadership role in their community. This award is given in memory of the character and life of William “Bill” Carter.