$0 – $450

21st Annual Conference

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time



The Millennium Biltmore Hotel

506 South Grand Avenue

Los Angeles, CA 90071

View Map

Event description


Event Agenda

(Detailed agenda coming soon)

Thursday, October 26, 2017
Founders' Awards Reception
The Millennium Biltmore Hotel
Los Angeles, CA

  • 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

(Please click here for past Founders' Awards recipients)

Friday, October 27, 2017
The Millennium Biltmore Hotel
Los Angeles, CA

  • 7:30 am: Registration Begins
  • 8:15 am: Breakfast Served
  • 8:30 am: Opening Remarks and Welcome to California
  • 9:30 am: Mary L. Shapiro Keynote Address
  • 11:00 am: Scholarship Awards
  • 11:20 am: Lunch Served
  • 11:40 am: Panel Discussion - "Perspectives for the Next Generation: Observations and Lessons for Life in the Public, Private and Political Sectors"
  • 1:00 pm: Featured Speaker
  • 1:55 pm: Closing Remarks

Post-Conference Activity
Walking Tours of Historical Downtown Los Angeles
Los Angeles Conservancy

  • 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm
  • Tour 1: The Millennium Biltmore Hotel
  • Tour 2: Historic Downtown Buildings
  • Tour 3: Modern Skyline (Bunker Hill)
(This event is separate from the conference registration and requires its own registration and payment on the registration page).

Post-Conference Reception
PERCH Rooftop
448 S. Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071

  • 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Keynote Conversation

Mary L. Schapiro
Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (2009‐2012) Keynote Conversation

Mary Schapiro’s service as the 29th SEC chairman culminated decades of regulatory leadership. She was the first woman to serve as SEC chairman, and the only person to have served as chairman of both the SEC and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

During four years as SEC chairman, Schapiro presided over one of the busiest rule-making agendas in the SEC’s history, during which the agency also brought a record number of enforcement actions, and executed a comprehensive restructuring program to improve protections for investors. Upon her departure, President Obama praised her leadership, saying the SEC became stronger and the financial system “safer and better able to serve the American people—thanks in large part to Schapiro’s hard work."

Before becoming SEC chairman, Schapiro served as CEO of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, the largest non- governmental regulator of securities firms. She worked for more than a decade with FINRA and its largest predecessor, the National Association of Securities Dealers. She was president of NASD regulation, vice chairman of the NASD, and was NASD’s chairman and CEO at the time of its consolidation into FINRA.

Earlier, Schapiro was chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission; a commissioner of the SEC; and general counsel and senior vice president of the Futures Industry Association. She began her career at the CFTC, serving first as a trial attorney and later as counsel and executive assistant to the chairman.

Schapiro is currently vice chairman of Promontory Financial Group’s Advisory Board, a board member at General Electric, the London Stock Exchange Group, and The Center for Audit Quality (CAQ) and vice chair of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board.


Thank you to all our sponsors for helping to make this event possible! If you are a sponsor and have not yet received a code for your complimentary registrations or if you would like to sponsor the 2017 Conference, please contact info@wpfc.com.

Please click here for list of sponsors.

Host Committee Members

Diane Allison
Ascension Parish School Board - Louisiana

Alice Bibler
State of Oregon - Treasury

Marla Bleavins
Port of Los Angeles

Joan Bracci
County of San Diego

Antoinette Chandler
County of Los Angeles

Angela Colton
City of San Diego

Michele Crichlow
County of San Diego

Linda R. Dzierzanowski
CPS Energy - Texas

Cindi Evangelisti
Chicago Park District

Trisha Filippone
University of Massachusetts Building Authority

Anne Fritz
City of St. Petersburg - Florida

Lisa-Marie Harris
San Diego County Water Authority

Kathy Kardell
Hennepin County - Minnesota

Katano Kasaine
City of Oakland - California

Lakshmi Kommi
City of San Diego

Amanda Lavin
Texas Water Development Board

Angel Mumma
City of Dublin - Ohio

Rose Poblete
San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District

LuAnne Edwards Schurtz
Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Marina Scott
Salt Lake City

Nadia Sesay
City and County of San Francisco

Alina Slamar
Los Angeles World Airports

Ha To
City of Los Angeles

Hotel Accomodations

Limited overnight accommodations have been reserved at the following hotels
(We recommend booking early to ensure room availability).

Room rate is $195 plus applicable taxes.
To reserve a room, please use this link.

Room rate is $199 plus applicable taxes.
To reserve a room, please use this link.

Room rate is $209 plus applicable taxes.
To reserve a room, please use this link.

Room rate is $209 plus applicable taxes.
To reserve a room, please use this link.

*Attendees registered after October 11, 2017 are not guaranteed to be included in day of conference program directory of attendees.

Share with friends

Date and Time


The Millennium Biltmore Hotel

506 South Grand Avenue

Los Angeles, CA 90071

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved