2022 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award Event

2022 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award Event

Actions and Detail Panel

$50 – $1,200

Date and time


The Indianapolis Propylaeum

1410 North Delaware Street

Indianapolis, IN 46202

View map

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Join us for an evening at the Indianapolis Propylaeum as we honor our 2022 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award Recipients!

About this event

The May Wright Sewall Leadership Award is given to outstanding women in Indiana who embody the spirit of May Wright Sewall. Each year, the Indianapolis Propylaeum selects one or more individuals who are outstanding examples of civic leadership and innovation to honor with the May Wright Sewall Leadership Award.

2022 May Wright Sewall Leadership Award Recipients:

Janet Allen is the Margot Lacy Eccles Artistic Director at the Indiana Repertory Theater. Allen has solidified the Indiana Repertory Theater’s reputation as a top-flight regional theatre dedicated to diverse programming and production quality, but also has significantly diversified the theater’s services to adults and children. She began at the IRT in 1980 as the theatre’s first literary manager–dramaturg. Named the IRT’s fourth artistic director in 1996, she is now in her 27th season in that role. In March 2020, she was named the Margot Lacy Eccles Artistic Director. named an Indiana Living Legend by the Indiana Historical Society.

Katherine Kiang demonstrates the positive effects a young woman can have on the next generation of females. Katherine is a bioengineer who provides technical support for making medicine and manufacturing at Eli Lilly. Outside of job responsibilities, Katherine is involved in Eli Lilly’s Women Engineering Network where she’s implemented a reverse mentoring program and her manufacturing site’s Diversity Equity and Inclusion team where she’s championed community volunteer partnerships that all folks can participate in. Outside of work Katherine has been the outreach director for the Society of Women Engineers since 2018 and has shifted the outreach priorities to have more focus on accessibility and diversity, including promoting STEM for girls in her outreach efforts. Katherine is also a Big Brothers Big Sister mentor.

See below for the timeline of the evening's events:

  • 5:30 PM - Cocktail hour in the Mansion
  • 6:30 PM - Award ceremony in the Carriage House
  • 7:00 PM - Dinner in the Mansion

Please RSVP no later than August 1, 2022.

Please reach out to julia.black@thepropylaeum.org or rose.wernicke@thepropylaeum.org with any questions regarding this event.

Share with friends