2022 Annual Dixon Luncheon

Actions Panel

Ticket sales end soon

2022 Annual Dixon Luncheon

The Dixon Awards are Back and In Person

When and where

Date and time


Marriott Albuquerque 2101 Louisiana Boulevard Northeast Albuquerque, NM 87110

Map and directions

How to get there

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

The annual Dixon event honors those New Mexicans who believe in government transparency at the state or local level – and who have made significant contributions to casting sunshine (transparency) on government operations in the state. The 2022 recipients include: Byron Marshall, citizen; Kathleen Hager, education; Rep. Marian Matthews and Greg Trapp, government; Thomas Grover, law; and Vincent Rodriguez, media.

She’s a Santa Fe native and investigative reporter focusing on the intersections of race, class and justice. She’s covered Major League Baseball for Sports Illustrated and is a senior writer at BuzzFeed News. Now, Melissa Segura will be the keynote speaker for the 2022 William S. Dixon First Amendment Awards luncheon October 6, 2022 at the Albuquerque Marriott in Albuquerque.

Segura won the George Polk Award for her landmark investigation detailing how a group of predominantly working-class, Latinas from Chicago uncovered evidence suggesting a police detective framed more than 50 of their sons, brothers, or husbands for murders they did not commit. Her series, “Broken Justice in Chicago,” has led to the exoneration of more than 30 people who had each spent decades behind bars.

She has also been named Journalist of the Year by the Innocence Network and was a finalist for Harvard's Goldsmith Award for investigative reporting. She’s been awarded the Emerson fellowship at New America and a Visiting Journalist position at the Russell Sage Foundation.

2022 Annual Dixon Luncheon image
Ticket sales end soon