$50 – $5,000

17th Annual IP3 Awards

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time



Online Event

Event description
Please join Public Knowledge as we celebrate our 17th Annual IP3 Awards!

About this Event

The IP3 Awards is a special occasion to honor those who have made significant contributions in the three areas of IP: Intellectual Property, Information Policy, and Internet Protocol. This year will be the seventeenth year Public Knowledge has held the awards, and we're excited to celebrate with you.

Due to the current pandemic, Public Knowledge has decided to host this year’s IP3 Awards online.

Since this year’s event is virtual, we will be collecting your home address in your registration in order to send you a Gift Bag for the event. We hope this gift will help our attendees feel like they are with us in person on the big day.

We are pleased to announce the winners of our 17th annual IP3 Awards:

- The Intellectual Property Award goes to Lila Bailey, Policy Counsel for Internet Archive.

- The Internet Protocol Award goes jointly to Matthew Rantanen (Canadian Cree), Director of Technology for the Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association and Director for the Tribal Digital Village Network Initiative, and Partnering and Business Development at Arcadian Infracom; and Geoffrey C. Blackwell (Chickasaw, Choctaw, Omaha, Muscogee Creek), Chief Strategy Officer and General Counsel for AMERIND and former founding Chief of the Federal Communications Commission’s Office of Native Affairs and Policy.

- The Information Policy Award goes to Stop Hate for Profit, a campaign that organized a mass boycott of Facebook advertising.

We are pleased to announce that Tim Wu -- Professor of Columbia University, author of “The Curse of Bigness,” and steadfast advocate for consumer rights -- will keynote the 17th Annual IP3 Awards!

Below, you can see our plan for the evening. We are introducing a Breakout Room option this year, in order to give you an opportunity to ask questions and talk with the awardees. With your registration, please let us know what room would better be suited for you.

If you are interested in being a sponsor of the 2020 IP3 Awards, please email michele@publicknowledge.org.

We will send the information on how to attend a few days before the event. Please make sure to sign in to your Zoom account in order to participate.

*This is a widely attended event.*

Thanks to our Platinum sponsors:

Thanks to our Gold sponsors:

  • Bloomberg
  • Charter Communications
  • Internet Society
  • Twitter
  • Verizon
  • Windstream
  • Writer’s Guild West

Thanks to our Silver sponsors:

  • AARP
  • ACA Connects – America’s Communications Association
  • Al Kramer
  • Glen Echo Group
  • Harris Wiltshire Grannis
  • Levin Blaszek Block & Boothby
  • Lumen
  • Perry Bayliss
  • Postmates
  • Sonos
  • Spotify
  • Starry
  • USTelecom
Share with friends

Date and Time


Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved