Sales Ended

15 November 2018 Technology Webcast

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description

Description

5G Opportunities for Broadcasters

Thursday, 15 November 2018
1:00 PM EDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 18:00 GMT / 18:00 UTC

Login Details to Be Provided with Registration Confirmation

Guest Speaker: Darko Ratkaj

5G is a new broadband technology with superior technical capabilities compared to earlier mobile communications systems, in particular a very low latency, very high reliability, improved spectrum utilization and energy efficiency. It aims to enable new services to consumers and business users in a number of different sectors of economy and society.

5G may allow broadcasters to produce their content in a more efficient way and may become a new distribution platform for their services. It might also enable new types of media service and an extended audience reach.

However, if 5G were to be widely adopted by the broadcasters it will need to meet their technical, commercial and regulatory requirements.

This webcast will introduce some of the key 5G features and their possible relevance for the audiovisual media sector. Furthermore, the presentation will outline several possible 5G applications in content production and distribution.

Monthly Technology Webcasts are complimentary for SMPTE Members.

Join SMPTE today and attend this webcast for free!


PDA Sponsors

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved