Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Screening of the Winners of 2012 Big Sur Short Film Series in Big Sur

Henry Miller Memorial Library

Thursday, August 29, 2013 from 8:00 PM to 11:00 PM (PDT)

Screening of the Winners of 2012 Big Sur Short Film...

Ticket Information

Donation Type Sales End Amount
Aug 29 film at HML ($10-20 suggested donation) Ended

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share Screening of the Winners of 2012 Big Sur Short Film Series in Big Sur

Event Details

In 2012, the Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series received over 800 submissions from over 70 countries.  We narrowed the field down to the best 50-or-so films and screened them across the summer.

Then the jury had their say.

That's right: our incredible jury, consisting of Philip Glass, Kirsten Dunst, Laurie Anderson, Mark and Michael Polish, Susan Littenberg, Lawrence Inglee, and Vilmost Zsigmond chose "the best of the best." (More on our jury below!)

Come to the Henry Miller Library and check out the winners from the 2012 series!

The Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series Jury

Philip Glass

One of the most innovative and creative artists of the 20th century, Philip has received three Academy Award nominations for his film scores and has performed at the Henry Miller Memorial Library in 2008 for our annual benefit concert, and twice in 2011, including a performance of his score for the 1931 Bela Lugosi film “Dracula” as part of his 2011 Days and Nights Festival.


Laurie Anderson

Experimental artist, composer, and musician, Laurie is also a dear friend of the Henry Miller Memorial Library, having played our annual benefit concert in 2005. Laurie is a pioneer in electronic music and has invented several devices that she has used in her recordings and performance art shows.


Kirsten Dunst

American film actress recently nominated for the European Film Award for Best Actress and New York Film Critics Circle Award for Best Actress for her role in the critically-acclaimed film “Melancholia.”


Vilmos Zsigmond

One of the “ten most influencial cinematographers in history” according to the International Cinematographers Guild, Zsigmond won an Oscar for “Close Encounters of the Third Kind,” an addition to three other nominations across his 30+ year career.


Mark and Michael Polish

The Polish Brothers are two of the most creative and resourceful filmmakers in independent cinema today. Their latest effort is “For Lovers Only,” a “no-budget,” black-and-white indie romance made using their own camera and equipment and no lighting lights or extraneous crew.


Susan Littenberg

A prolific American film editor who has worked with Stephen Soderbergh, Jim Jarmush, Hal Hartley, and Ang Lee, Littenberg was nominated for Best Edited Feature Film – Comedy or Musical for “Easy A” at the 2010 American Cinema Editors Awards.


Lawrence Inglee

Lawrence is an American film producer who serves as the President of Lightstream Pictures. Inglee has worked as a producer on a number of films, including “The Messenger” by director Oren Moverman and “The Day After Tomorrow” by director Roland Emmerich.

Have questions about Screening of the Winners of 2012 Big Sur Short Film Series in Big Sur? Contact Henry Miller Memorial Library

When & Where

48603 Hwy 1
Big Sur, CA 93920

Thursday, August 29, 2013 from 8:00 PM to 11:00 PM (PDT)

  Add to my calendar


Henry Miller Memorial Library

The Henry Miller Memorial Library is a a public benefit, non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization championing the literary, artistic and cultural contributions of the late writer, artist, and Big Sur resident Henry Miller.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.