Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Nomad PHP US - September 2014

E.I.C.C., Inc.

Thursday, September 18, 2014 from 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM (CDT)

Nomad PHP US - September 2014

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Sales End Price Fee Quantity
Attendee
Attend the event live. Attendees will be sent an email with instructions on how to join the event. You also get access to the videos after the event and can re-watch it as many times as you like for up to 3 months. Set end time 1 hour before event
Ended $15.00 $0.00
Video
Can't make the event? Get the "VIdeo Only" ticket. You will be sent an email with instructions on how you can watch the presentation at your leisure. Videos are available for 3 months after the event and you can watch them as many times as you like.
Ended $15.00 $0.00

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share Nomad PHP US - September 2014

Event Details

Secure Password Hashing: It's Not Just For Experts Anymore

Presented by Jeremy Kendall (@JeremyKendall )

Date: September 18, 2014 
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 2:00 BST (Sept 19), 3:00 CEST (Sept 19)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the timeanddate.com

Password hashing has long been a realm of mystery and a giant pain point for many developers who are not already experts in cryptography. Thankfully, some recent changes in the PHP language and recent open source contributions have made hashing headaches a thing of the past. In this talk we'll learn about some password hashing pitfalls, the tiniest bit of theory as to why secure hashing is important, and then we'll dig into some code that will have you hashing passwords securely in no time.

 

Meet Jeremy Kendall

 

PHP Developer, open source contributor, founder and former organizer of @MemphisPHP, new father, and amateur photographer. Jeremy has been developing for the web in PHP since 2001, and has a passion for learning, teaching, open source, and best practices. He currently lives in his hometown of Memphis, TN and is the CTO and Lead Developer for Graph Story.

Sponsored by:

Engine Yard

Have questions about Nomad PHP US - September 2014? Contact E.I.C.C., Inc.

When

Thursday, September 18, 2014 from 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM (CDT)


  Add to my calendar

Organizer

E.I.C.C., Inc.

EICC, Inc. is the brainchild of the husband and wife team of Cal Evans and Kathy Evans. Together they have over 30 years of web site design and development experience.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.