Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Nomad PHP - July 2014

E.I.C.C., Inc.

Thursday, July 24, 2014 from 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM (CDT)

Nomad PHP - July 2014

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Sales End Price Fee Quantity
Attendee
Attend the event live. Attendees will be sent an email with instructions on how to join the event. You also get access to the videos after the event and can re-watch it as many times as you like for up to 3 months.
Ended $15.00 $0.00
Video
Can't make the event? Get the "VIdeo Only" ticket. You will be sent an email with instructions on how you can watch the presentation at your leisure. Videos are available for 3 months after the event and you can watch them as many times as you like.
Ended $15.00 $0.00

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share Nomad PHP - July 2014

Event Details

Beyond Design Patterns

Presented by Anthony Ferrara (@ircmaxell)

Date: July 24, 2014 
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 2:00 BST (July 25), 3:00 CEST (July 25)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the timeanddate.com

Many people teach design patterns as a fundamental step to Object Oriented Programming. They are so universally seen as important that almost every single programming conference that I have been to has had at least one talk about them. They are quite often used as interview questions to test a candidate's OOP knowledge. However, just like inheritance, they are not needed for OOP. And just like inheritance, they are a distraction rather than a foundation. Instead of focusing on patterns, I suggest focusing on learning about abstraction and communication. Why? Come and find out!

 

Meet Anthony Ferrara

 

Anthony is a Developer Advocate for Google, where he works with key partners to implement strong integrations with Google's products. He has experience with Object Oriented Design, Application Architecture, Highly Scalable Web Applications and Web Application Security. He is a contributor to multiple Open Source projects, as well as the PHP community as a whole. He is also a former PHP Internals contributor, as well as a Core Team Member and Development Coordinator for the Joomla! project.


Sponsored by:

Engine Yard

Have questions about Nomad PHP - July 2014? Contact E.I.C.C., Inc.

When

Organizer

E.I.C.C., Inc.

EICC, Inc. is the brainchild of the husband and wife team of Cal Evans and Kathy Evans. Together they have over 30 years of web site design and development experience.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.