This event has ended

Nomad PHP Europe - January 2014

E.I.C.C., Inc.

Thursday, January 23, 2014 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM (CST)

Nomad PHP Europe - January 2014

Ticket Information

No tickets available.

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share Nomad PHP Europe - January 2014

Event Details

A Stitch In Time Saves 9; or, Solving the N+1 Problem

Presented by Paul Jones (@pmjones)

Date: 01/23/2014
Time: 20:00 CET

11:00 PST, 13:00 CST, 19:00 GMT
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the Time Zone Conversion

When dealing with databases, developers frequently run into the N+1 problem, in which they populate domain objects via queries in loops. This causes terrible performance drags. There is a solution in plain PHP that makes the number of queries constant to increase performance overall. The talk shows typical PHP code involving the N+1 problem, then shows how to solve the problem in plain PHP (that is, without a framework or ORM), and includes editorializing about the origins of the N+1 problem in the developer mindset.

Meet Paul Jones

Paul M Jones

Paul is an internationally recognized PHP expert who has worked as everything from junior developer to VP of Engineering in all kinds of organizations (corporate, military, non-profit, educational, medical, and others). Paul's latest open-source project is the Aura project for PHP. Among his other accomplishments, Paul is the lead developer of the Solar Framework, and the creator of the Savant template system. He has authored a series of authoritative benchmarks on dynamic framework performance, and was a founding contributor to the Zend Framework (the DB, DB_Table, and View components). He was also a member of the Zend PHP 5.3 Certification education advisory board. In a previous career, Paul was an intelligence operations specialist for the US Air Force, and enjoys putting .308 holes in targets at 400 yards.

Have questions about Nomad PHP Europe - January 2014? Contact E.I.C.C., Inc.

When

Thursday, January 23, 2014 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM (CST)


  Add to my calendar

Organizer

E.I.C.C., Inc.

EICC, Inc. is the brainchild of the husband and wife team of Cal Evans and Kathy Evans. Together they have over 30 years of web site design and development experience.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.