Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Nomad PHP - April 2014

E.I.C.C., Inc.

Thursday, April 17, 2014 from 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM (CDT)

Nomad PHP - April 2014

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Sales End Price Fee Quantity
Attendee
Attend the event live. Attendees will be sent an email with instructions on how to join the event. You also get access to the videos after the event and can re-watch it as many times as you like for up to 3 months.
Ended $15.00 $0.00
Video
Can't make the event? Get the "VIdeo Only" ticket. You will be sent an email with instructions on how you can watch the presentation at your leisure. Videos are available for 3 months after the even and you can watch them as many times as you like.
Ended $15.00 $0.00

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share Nomad PHP - April 2014

Event Details

 

Demystifying the REST API

Presented by Samantha Quiñones (@ieatkillerbees)

Date: April 17, 2014  
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 3:00 CEST (April 18), 2:00 BST (April 18)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the

RESTful APIs are all the rage in the web development community, but there's a surprising lack of consensus about how to build them the right way. There are a multitude of tutorials, blog posts, and even videos preaching the REST gospel, and sometimes it seems like no two of them even agree with each other! If you've ever been confused about whether to use PUT or POST, or found yourself wondering what the heck an unsafe non-indempotent operation is, this talk will set you straight.

Veteran software engineer Samantha Quiñones will walk you through the 2001 doctoral dissertation that started the REST revolution, presenting these fundamental concepts in a way that developers of every skill level will appreciate. Then, through practical examples, she will describe how easy it can be to build truly RESTful HTTP APIs, and how you can be a part of creating a web that's more scalable, more approachable, and more connected than ever.

 

Meet Samantha Quiñ

 

Samantha Quiñones is a software engineer and lead developer at POLITICO.com. Before moving to digital media publishing, she spent 15 years developing software in the network security and financial services industries. Since 2005, her focus has been on designing functional, scalable web services and applications. Samantha is an active member of the Washington, DC PHP developer community and a vocal advocate for open standards.

Engine Yard

Have questions about Nomad PHP - April 2014? Contact E.I.C.C., Inc.

When

Organizer

E.I.C.C., Inc.

EICC, Inc. is the brainchild of the husband and wife team of Cal Evans and Kathy Evans. Together they have over 30 years of web site design and development experience.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.