" rel="stylesheet">
Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

MIT Wind Ensemble - Southern Notebook

MIT Music and Theater Arts

Friday, May 3, 2013 at 8:00 PM (EDT)

Ticket Information

Type End Quantity
Advance Ended Free  

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share MIT Wind Ensemble - Southern Notebook

Event Details

Southern Notebook. MIT Wind Ensemble. Frederick Harris, Jr., Music Director, Kenneth Amis, Assistant Conductor. World Premiere of Southern Notebook for piano and symphonic winds by MIT Senior Lecturer Charles Shadle. Anirudh Arun ’13, piano;  Dvořák, trans. Amis, Slavonic Dance No. 1, op. 72;  Schmidt, Hommage à Stravinsky;  Ito, Gloriosa: Symphonic Poem for Winds; Brahms, trans. Boyd, Chorale Preludes nos. 7 & 8.  8pm, Kresge Auditorium. Free in advance; $5 cash at the door.  

Southern Notebook is designed to celebrate the contributions of pianist and MIT senior Anirudh Arun to the MIT Wind Ensemble. Though the piano plays a prominent role, Southern Notebook is not a traditional concerto, but rather a cycle of eight short, interrelated character pieces. The movements, entitled “Cypress”, “Porch”, “Birmingham”, “Mountain Music, “Rag”, “Whirligig”, “Reprise” and “Invitation” are musical responses to images and experiences gleaned from a lifetime of travel in the American South.

Have questions about MIT Wind Ensemble - Southern Notebook? Contact MIT Music and Theater Arts

When & Where

MIT Kresge Auditorium
48 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139

Friday, May 3, 2013 at 8:00 PM (EDT)

  Add to my calendar


MIT Music and Theater Arts

The Music and Theater Arts section provides students at MIT the opportunity to experience the unique language and process of the arts. Faculty and teaching staff help students understand art’s demand for rigor and discipline and its non-quantitative standards of excellence and beauty. A strong, comprehensive program in both music and theater arts—encompassing history, theory, and performance—is taught by faculty and staff of the highest caliber. 

  Contact the Organizer
MIT Wind Ensemble - Southern Notebook
Cambridge, MA Events Performance Music

Interested in hosting your own event?

Join millions of people on Eventbrite.

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.