Bronx Recognizes Its Own Artist Award Ceremony

Bronx, NY

Bummer! Sales have ended.

Unfortunately, tickets for this event are no longer on sale.

View upcoming events Create an event

Event Details

Twenty-Five Bronx Artists Received BCA’s 2012 BRIO Award
Award Reception & Networking Event on Wednesday, August 1st
Longwood Art Gallery at Hostos Community College

Twenty-five Bronx artists are the 2012 recipients of the Bronx Council on the Arts’ (BCA) prestigious Bronx Recognizes Its Own (BRIO) Award for artistic excellence. An award reception and networking event will be held on Wednesday, August 1st at 6:00pm at the Longwood Art Gallery at Hostos Community College, 450 Grand Concourse at 149th Street in the Mott Haven section of the Bronx.

The August 1st event marks the twenty-third anniversary of BRIO, and is one of many activities scheduled for that evening’s Bronx Culture Trolley at the Longwood Art Gallery @ Hostos along with a number of free Bronx Culture Trolley activities along the South Bronx Cultural Corridor.

BRIO winners, past and present, are invited to socialize and network with each other while welcoming the 2012 BRIO winners into the fold.

They are:
Literary Arts: Laura Goldberg (poetry), Amy Gottlieb (poetry), Sima Rabinowitz (poetry), Tiffany Soriano (fiction), and Ajene Washington (playwriting).
Media Arts: Adel Morales (narrative film video).
Performing Arts:Igor Begelman (instrumental music), John Benitez (instrumental music), Don Friedman (instrumental music), Alethea Pace (dance), Matthew Jefferson (vocal), Rafael Torres (performance poetry), and Rodrigo Venegas (vocal).
Visual Arts:  Manuel Acevedo (installation art), Michael Paul Britto (mixed media), Patricia Delahanty (painting), Sharyn Finnegan (painting), Sean Paul Gallegos (sculpture), Nilda Garces (craft), Swati Khurana (mixed media), Elle Perez (photography), Stephanie Rodriguez (illustration/artist book), Hrvoje Slovenc (photography), Jennifer Tomaiolo (painting), and Randall Wilcox (painting).

BRIO winners and guests, please RSVP by Monday, July 30th.