" rel="stylesheet">
Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings: Run-Through

American Composers Orchestra

Tuesday, April 9, 2013 from 7:30 PM to 10:00 PM (EDT)

22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings: Run-Through

Ticket Information

Type End Quantity
22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings: Run-Through Ended Free  

Share 22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings: Run-Through

Event Details

22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings

Hear the rising stars of the composition world as they showcase their stuff and compete for a $15,000 commission prize.

The 22nd Annual Underwood New Music Reading Sessions will be held in New York City at DiMenna Center for Classical Music on April 8-9, 2013. Up to six composers in the early stages of their careers were selected to participate. One will be awarded a $15,000 commission to write a new work to be performed by ACO.

At the readings, composers will meet with ACO artistic staff, orchestra members -- including ACO's Music Director George Manahan, and composer advisors Joan Tower and Chris Theofanidis -- and receive critical commentary and feedback.

Come hear the works of these young composers in an open rehearsal with ACO members and artistic staff. The rehearsal is free and open to the public, but you do need to reserve a ticket.


Have questions about 22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings: Run-Through? Contact American Composers Orchestra

When & Where

DiMenna Center for Classical Music
450 West 37th Street
New York, NY

Tuesday, April 9, 2013 from 7:30 PM to 10:00 PM (EDT)

  Add to my calendar


American Composers Orchestra

Now in its 38th season, American Composers Orchestra is the only orchestra in the world dedicated to the creation, performance, preservation, and promulgation of music by American composers. ACO makes the creation of new opportunities for American composers and new American orchestral music its central purpose. Through concerts at Carnegie Hall and other venues, recordings, internet and radio broadcasts, educational programs, New Music Readings, and commissions, ACO identifies today’s brightest emerging composers, champions prominent established composers as well as those lesser-known, and increases regional, national, and international awareness of the infinite variety of American orchestral music, reflecting geographic, stylistic, and temporal diversity. ACO also serves as an incubator of ideas, research, and talent, as a catalyst for growth and change among orchestras, and as an advocate for American composers and their music.

To date, ACO has performed music by more than 700 American composers, including nearly 300 world premieres and newly commissioned works. In addition to SONiC, orchestra’s innovative programs have included Sonidos de las Américas, six annual festivals devoted to Latin American composers and their music; Coming to America, a program immersing audiences in the ongoing evolution of American music through the work of immigrant composers; Orchestra Tech, a long-term initiative to integrate new digital technologies in the symphony orchestra; Improvise!, a festival devoted to the exploration of improvisation and the orchestra; coLABoratory: Playing It UNsafe, a new laboratory for the research and development of experimental new works for orchestra; and Orchestra Underground, ACO’s entrepreneurial cutting-edge orchestral ensemble that embraces new technology, eclectic instruments, influences, and spatial orientation of the orchestra, new experiments in the concert format, and multimedia and multidisciplinary collaborations.

More information about American Composers Orchestra is available online at www.americancomposers.org.

  Contact the Organizer
22nd Annual Underwood New Music Readings: Run-Through
New York, NY Events Performance Music

Interested in hosting your own event?

Join millions of people on Eventbrite.

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.